Law Clinic

A key actor of strategic litigation in Anglo-American law are law clinics which, in the field of human rights, work to promote these rights by helping to prepare real cases. In a law clinic, students, supervised by teachers, work on specific cases. These clinics make it possible to apply the theoretical teachings and practical exercises to specific cases, putting the students directly in touch with practitioners and the persons represented. Clinical teaching of law thus effectively complements the classical teaching of law while promoting the application of fundamental rights. It also makes it possible to conduct scientific research on the changes in contemporary law and on law as a tool for social change. Scholars point to the social role and the support to communities that law clinics offer. The pedagogical, scientific and social interest explains its growing success in many countries.

The persons in charge of the clinic are Annemie Schaus, Vincent Letellier and Damien Scalia and is part of the MA2 Course of Argumentation in Rights and Liberties, in the public and international law orientation (10 ECTS ). The clinic is a member of the Francophone Legal Clinics Network  (http://www.cliniques-juridiques.org/).

The cases handled may be strategic litigation cases carried out by NGOs and associations to strengthen human rights. As such, the ULB human rights clinic maintains collaborations with the Walloon Network for the Fight Against Poverty, the FGTB, the League of Human Rights, the Tenants’ Association, the European Democratic Lawyers, Youth Rights Service and others. Various consultations were thus drafted by the clinic. Radio talk about the clinic (in French) here

Clinique du droit

Un des acteurs de la Strategic Litigation en droit anglo-saxon sont les Law clinics qui, en matière de droits de l’homme, œuvrent à promouvoir ces droits en concourant à la défense de dossiers réels en cette matière. Au sein d’une clinique du droit, les étudiants en droit, encadrés par des enseignants, travaillent sur des cas concrets. Ces cliniques permettent d’appliquer les acquis des enseignements théoriques et des travaux pratiques à des cas d’espèce, mettant directement les étudiants en contact avec les praticiens et les personnes représentées. L’enseignement clinique du droit complète ainsi utilement l’enseignement classique du droit tout en promouvant l’application des droits fondamentaux. Il permet aussi de mener des recherches scientifiques sur les mutations du droit contemporain et sur le droit comme outil d’amélioration des pratiques sociales. Le rôle social et l’aide qu’offrent les cliniques du droit à la communauté sont mis en avant par les académiques et les chercheurs. L’intérêt à la fois pédagogique, scientifique et social explique son succès croissant dans de nombreux pays.

La clinique des droits de l’homme de la faculté de droit de l’ULB sont Annemie Schaus, Vincent Letellier et Damien Scalia et s’inscrit dans le cours d’Argumentation en Droits et Libertés du MA2, finalité droit public et international (10 ECTS). Elle est membre du Réseau des cliniques juridiques francophones (http://www.cliniques-juridiques.org/).

Les affaires traitées peuvent être des SL menées par des ONG et des associations pour renforcer les droits de l’homme. A ce titre, la clinique des droits de l’homme de l’ULB entretient des collaborations avec le Réseau wallon de lutte contre la pauvreté, la FGTB, la Ligue des droits de l’homme, l’Association des locataires, l’Association européenne des avocats démocrates (AED), Service droits des jeunes et d’autres. Diverses consultations ont ainsi été rédigées par la clinique.

On en parle ici.